3GP Converter

November 25, 2007 at 10:37 pm (Technical Stuffs) (, , , , )

When I first got hold of my N-gage at that time, I was looking around for a nifty 3GP converter so I can convert videos from my music videos and put it in my phone.

So I did my fair share of my searching and used Nokia Multimedia Converter 2. The quality sucks, but well I can’t be expecting a high end quality with my N-gage since it only supports 3GPP/AMR (h.263) formats.

After that I got hold of the recent Nokia 6300 and I found out that it’s able to run 3GPP/AAC (h.263) and MP4/AAC (h.264, the same used in PSP). But to my disappointment, it didn’t live up to it’s name. The version I was using couldn’t read 3GPP/AAC formats, it just shows black screens with sounds. So I had to upgrade the firmware.

Now it’s able to view 3GPP/AAC formats of up to 176×144 (that’s QCIF format that supports for most handphones nowadays) with AAC (low bitrates seems to work well, I only used 32kbps). But when I tried using 320×240 (QVGA format), my phone will not play. I’m so upset about that. Hopefully future firmware upgrade will correct this problem.

Back to topic, the tool I used to convert is 3GP Converter (download here) but the program runs in Japanese! But not to worry, they have english translation so you can still use it. If you have some programming background, you can mess with the transcoding codes or even write a new one. It’s so easy to understand once you know how it works.

Well just try it out and see if it works out for you. It works for me though, and it needs a lot of tweaking.

I might post some of my “working” transcoding codes to share in the near future…

Screenshots:

3GP_Converter main

 From here, you can choose the settings you desire

3GP_Converter app

 Just drag and drop video files and make sure you set the destination folder.

 

Sometimes, there are just some videos which you can’t convert. Those are the really “technical” stuffs which only experience can help. If I have the time, I’ll try to explain how to get a workaround for it. Or maybe if you want, you can leave a comment and I’ll get back to you asap.

Leave a Reply

