Microsoft PowerToys: SyncToy

December 10, 2007 at 12:41 am (Technical Stuffs) (, , , )

I’ve got a new toy to play with!

It’s called SyncToy and it does as what it says.

I decided to use this because I used my handphone extensively nowadays (well who don’t?) and I wanted to synchronize my files from the phone with my PC with ease. Something I couldn’t get it done in a jiffy with the Nokia PC Suite.

It’s really easy to use, and you don’t have to have a Diploma to use it effectively. The language used are relatively easy to understand, no explicit jargons and no programming language is needed to be learnt!

What I found useful about this is that it’s quick, easy, and fun to use. Why is it fun? Because I can now virtually take pictures with my phone, and it can be downloaded to my PC without even searching for it. It’s that easy. Snap and go.

It allows you to view the files to copy. You can also choose not to copy certain files. Like as for me, I don’t like to copy the *.db files, cause it’s virtually useless to me. So you can easily choose which files you want to copy before you decide to copy it.

Moved the files? Not to worry. It will make sure only the newest and latest one is to be copied. Anyway, it will prompt you on what to do.

Got folders? It will create the same folder name in your specified directory! So it’s like a backup plan, if you’re looking for one.

And it works on virtually any drives you might have. PDA, handphones, memory cards, digital cameras, mp3 players and even laptops. It can also synchronize your internal hard drives if you want to.

If you want a fast a quick solution to your synchronizing needs, use this. I’ll recommend this good product to anyone out there.

Here are some screenshots.

SyncToy Main Screen

SyncToy Preview Screen

SyncToy Complete Screen

SyncToy Create Screen 1

SyncToy Create Screen 2

SyncToy Create Screen 3

SyncToy Create Screen 4

Leave a Reply

