Downgrade iPod Touch version 1.1.3 to 1.1.1

January 17, 2008 at 10:22 pm (How to, iPod Touch, Technical Stuffs) ()

AS OF 15 MARCH 2008 I WILL NOT BE REPLYING TO THIS POST. ALL NEWER POSTS/QUESTIONS WILL BE ANSWERED IN MY OTHER TECHNICAL BLOG AT HTTP://ASK-YUSRY-ANYTHING.BLOGSPOT.COM

There’s really no need for you to do that now. However, you can still downgrade if you want to.

——————————–

Entry removed.

Visit the link above for the same information posted here before. Please update your bookmarks/feeds.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thanks! – Yusry

141 Comments

  1. michael said,

    hey dude i’m lost i downloaded the 1.1.1 thingy (Download the 1.1.1 firmware file first) that u said 2 do so n when i shift click n restore i cant find the file wat do i do help plz

  2. dermapthera said,

    Hi!

    That’s pretty weird. You don’t remember where you keep the file?

    Nevermind, just re-download it again (hopefully it’s still in cache, download should be fast) and please put it in somewhere where you can remember (like desktop).

    After the whole process is finished, you can then move the file into another place for future references.

    Good luck.

    =)

  3. nathan said,

    it keeps telling me the ipod could not be restored that an unknown error occured

  4. dermapthera said,

    Ok here’s the important thing.

    Some people do not have any success to getting it downgraded, but a few claimed they have.

    Make sure your iPod is in DFU mode (there’s no Recovery Screen). This screen should be blank (just a black screen) but it should show up in iTunes. It might take a few tries just to get to this screen.

    If you still can’t get past it, then I’m really sorry. You might want to try the iphuc method described by ipodtouchmaster. iphuc method should work on Windows. Look for his video on my other post on instructions on how to do that.

    Good luck.

    =)

  5. ivenegas said,

    hey try and look for the folder that says my downloads and the when you find the file make sure that after the wors restore you put

    .ipsw then try it again

  6. danny said,

    man your amzing thanx so much

  7. dermapthera said,

    No problem.

    Just doing what I love doing the most: helping people.

    I’m just cool with that.

    =)

  8. ch3mi0n said,

    Jailbreaking 1.1.3 was successful on iPod Touch.

    1) download 1.1.1 version

    2) reboot iPod Touch into recovery

    3) restore 1.1.1 onto Touch

    4) browse to http://jailbreakme.com to download the application installer.

    Done.

  9. dermapthera said,

    Hi ch3mi0n!

    Jailbreak 1.1.3? That’s how to downgrade from version 1.1.3 to version 1.1.1, then jailbreaking version 1.1.1.

    For jailbreaking version 1.1.3 (Installer app, with firmware 1.1.3) has yet to be released though. I’m still waiting for that day to come myself, so that I can finally update my version 1.1.2 iPod Touch. *keep looking at the clock*

    =)

  10. person said,

    Dude your method is way easier than that iphuc crap. Thanx alot it worked for me and iphuc didn’t.

    πŸ™‚

  11. dermapthera said,

    Hey dude.

    I’m glad it helped you, but don’t thank me! I was merely spreading the word from another person who managed to get it done perfectly.

    Cheers!

  12. jose said,

    Will all my song and video get deleted??

  13. dermapthera said,

    Hi Jose.

    Unfortunately, if you do this “restore”, your media (everything, music, videos, pictures, settings etc) will get deleted.

    It’s like re-formatting. But to put your songs back into the iPod is easy as pie if you’re using iTunes. Just re-sync whatever you’ve sync the last time, and you’re good to go.

    Cheers.

  14. ch3mi0n said,

    I simply meant that, yes downgrading from 1.1.3 works, because I’ve seen a lot of people on blogs and forums that were worried about it having problems or messing up their iPod…

  15. dermapthera said,

    Hi ch3mi0n!

    Oops… I must have completely misunderstand you back there… Sorry!

    Anyway, I haven’t come across anyone who had their iPod Touch get messed up by downgrading it.

    Cheers!

  16. Munz said,

    Superb!!! Works like a charm on the iphone too so thanks!!!

  17. dermapthera said,

    Hi Munz!

    Glad it worked out fine for iPhone. But I think the 1.1.1 for iPod and 1.1.1 for iPhone is a different file? I’m not sure.

    You should go here to get the correct version of the firmware in case there’s an error or anything.

  18. troy said,

    OK I DID EVERYTHING N NOW MINE WONT TURN BACK ON

  19. Memo said,

    iPod could not be restored an unknown error occured!!!

    What’s happening???

    I’ve followed the instructions step by step and keeps tellin me that!!!

    Help!!!

  20. Kyle said,

    i had this jailbreak on my itouch but then i did something so i had to restore it and now i have version 1.1.3 and whenever i try downgrading to 1.1.2 or 1.1.1 that unknown error pops up. can u help me??

  21. andrew said,

    i need help when i try doin the shift and restore it says and unknown erroe occured plz respond

  22. andrew said,

    dude i did everything right but then I held shift and restore and then i clicked the ipod thing 1.1.1 software but then it said an unknown error occured and i had to retore it and it deleted the songs plz respond!!!

  23. joe rosati said,

    that was wicked easy , but i hate how its so mush harder going from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1 than it from 1.1.2, but that was the only way it worked, thanks

  24. dermapthera said,

    Hi guys.

    If it didn’t work out ok for you guys, I’m terribly sorry.

    For a start, you will have to make sure, on your end, that when you restart in DFU mode, your screen are blank. If you have reached a screen where there is an iTunes + connector dock, then you’re a little too late to releasing the home button. You will need to re-try again.

    If you’re impatient, you can try the ipodtouchmaster’s iphuc method. That method should work for windows users too.

    If you do not have successes, please do share with us on how you can get it to re-appear so that other people can learn.

    For those who have successes, congratulations. I am now hoping the time will come soon that the jailbreak for 1.1.3 is made available to the public.

    Regards,
    dermapthera

  25. dermapthera said,

    @andrew

    By the time you had pressed Restore, all data will be wiped out. You can always put back sync back your songs on another time though.

    I think I should make a notice for that. Thanks for the heads up.

    Cheers.

  26. Matthew said,

    YEAH
    I got it you just do it a couple times piece of cake

  27. Johnny said,

    I am soo glad I found this that iphuc crap doesn’t work!

  28. dermapthera said,

    Hi Johnny

    Glad it worked out for you.

    For the rest, wait a little more. A 1.1.3 jailbreak should be released pretty soon, I’ll post the details once I get my hands on it.

    Cheers!

  29. Valikinz said,

    Hey luffers :]

    I tried your method. _> Well, the screen was blank and it said it was on Recovery on iTunes. xP Tried it that way [*was too lazy to try to re-do the whole thing] and it worked

    Or was I in DFU mode and iTunes was tricked? o_O

  30. Kimber :) said,

    hm?
    so when I try to download firmware 1.1.1
    it wants to save it to itunes I am guessing this is NOT what I want?

  31. Shannon BaBii said,

    Hey uhm, nuttin is workin for me. i tried both methods n ive jus had it lol. ive had it for what 4 days n nuttins workin bc i accidentally upgraded to 1.1.3 n i shud have downgraded when i had 1.1.2 hence makin this harder for me. =[ im kinda tired n sad. if sum1 cud help tht wuD b niCe. cmnt bac on this if u want my sn 2 c if u cud possible help me wid dis predicament. <33 thnx PpLz
    -twas yur guRL shaNNon xo

  32. dermapthera said,

    @Kimber

    What browser are you using to download the firmware? Yes, most browser will try to ask you to open it using iTunes, but just save it into you hard drive. Nothing will happen though. I wouldn’t suggest you trying to run the file.

    @Shannon

    I know it’s kinda troublesome and tiring, but you just need to get the timings right. As Valikinz said, in iTunes, it will recognize it as Recovery Mode, but if you see a Recovery Mode screen in your iPod Touch, then you’re lifting the home buttons a little too late.

    To make sure you don’t miss it, follow these steps:

    1: Turn on iPod, connect to USB, launch iTunes
    2: It should show up your device in iTunes
    3: Now hold Home and Standby (approx 10 secs, just ignore the Slider) your iPod should turn off.
    4: Observe iTunes. Once your device is removed from iTunes, lift the Standby button.
    5: Keep observing iTunes. In a few seconds more, it should come back to iTunes. Now you remove lift the Home button.
    6: iTunes will say it’s in Recovery Mode. To confirm if you have done it right, your iPod Screen should be blank (as if it’s off)
    7: Now perform a manual update by Shift-Click on Restore
    8: Now you wait.

    Good luck.

    Let me know if you have success in doing this. Unless you want to try the iphuc method though.

    Cheers.

  33. Harrison said,

    i love u to death

  34. nicolas said,

    hahahah! thank you im loving you people!… i had visited tons of web pages and i still couldnt do it until i saw this one!! thanks worked perfectly

  35. dermapthera said,

    Hi nicolas

    Glad it worked out for you!

    Cheers

  36. drew said,

    i need help why want my ipod downgrade to the 1.1.1 version?

  37. dermapthera said,

    Hi drew!

    I’m not sure why you come to this page though, but please do gather information first.

    Anyway, you downgrade because:

    1) you hate 1.1.3, it just sucks in a way

    2) you wanted to jailbreak 1.1.3 using NateTrue’s method

    3) you want to use 1.1.2 instead

    4) you want to use jailbroken apps in 1.1.1/1.1.2 but not 1.1.3

    Well, looks like that’s about every reason for you to downgrade.

    Good luck!

  38. teeshah said,

    i think drew meant… “why can’t my ipod downgrade….”

  39. dermapthera said,

    Oh.

    I’m bad at internet’s writings. LOL.

    Ok. Here’s the deal.

    If you bought a iPod Touch OTB with 1.1.3, then you need to downgrade.

    Yes it’s impossible to downgrade normally by just “shift-click” on update/restore. But there’s a workaround for it.

    The issue here is timing. If you don’t get it right the first time, try again. You may also want to try the iphuc method if you’re using Windows.

    Just make sure you run iTunes (preferably 7.5, but 7.6 should work) so that you can notice when to lift the buttons.

    So read the instructions first, then when you get a clear view of what to anticipate, execute the method slowly but efficiently.

    If you keep hitting the “Recovery Screen”, you might want to try to try releasing the home button 1-2 seconds earlier. How early depends totally on iTunes. Exactly how long, well, that depends on luck.

    I’m still figuring if it’s possible to combine iphuc and this force downgrade. I’ll do some research and see if there’s anything I can find.

    Hope that helps you.

    Cheers.

  40. momott said,

    I haven’t tried this yet but it seems like I might have problems due to the fact that my computer is slow and it might be hard to get the timing right. Do you recomend that I use the iphuc method even though this method seems to have better feedback? Also when iTunes says it can’t find the original file of a song is it gone? I have all of the CDs but is there an easier way? Thx for your time!

  41. dermapthera said,

    Hi momott

    You can try the iphuc method though if you want. No timing necessary, but chances are not as good as this method.

    Just make sure you typed in the command correctly.

    As for your iTunes, I’d suggest you re-sync. Anyway syncing shouldn’t be a problem compared to having your iPod screwed. If iTunes say it cannot find, it’s probably because:

    1: You moved the file
    2: You deleted the file
    3: You renamed the file

    So the best solution for that is to remove all the media in the library, then re-add to library. Then re-sync to your iPod so that it can find your media correctly on the drive.

    Hope that helps.

    Cheers.

  42. Cutie Girlie said,

    OMG…like thnx….that was too easy. I’ve tried other websites and none of them where comprehensible. Thnx man…u rock.

    LOve U Much

  43. big dog said,

    thank you so much! i freakin love u!

  44. vlad said,

    Thanx for posting!!!!!!!!

  45. Corey said,

    Hey,
    I’m having a problem here. When I was Downloading the file and error message popped up and said,”The iPod “iPod” could not be restored. An unknown error has occurred (1)”

    Any reason why it’s saying that?

  46. Corey said,

    Wait…
    Never mind… I found my mistake.
    now it works!!!!
    Thank you so much.

  47. dermapthera said,

    Hi Corey

    At least, share with us a workaround for the mistake? Or what did you actually do?

    Thanks!

    Cheers.

  48. Noop said,

    Hi,

    FINALLY GOT IT WORKING even with the unknown error occured [1] problem.

    I tried about 10 times to downgrade but had the same error.

    In order to get it to work I restored the iPod back to 1.1.3 and then sync’d all the songs etc so that it was like it was prior to me trying the downgrade.

    I then left it connected to iTunes and followed Dermapthera’s steps exactly as they are written and it workeda treat!

    Hope it works for all of you who are struggling!

    Regards,

    Noop

  49. Seung Jin Hong said,

    dude, I really appreciate it lol cuz I was struggling with resroring and downgrading a few times, but I couldn’t get thru though. However after I got your posting by searching on Google, I have just done it : ) cuz I had always had a problem with Unknown error (1) (shit) but solved it, Thanks to you : )

    Truly aprriciate it : )
    bye

  50. roy93 said,

    THANKS!!!! I tried the iPhuc thing & it didnt work for me, but yours did. THANKS ALOT!!! I appreciate it!

  51. dermapthera said,

    Glad to hear that roy93. Cheers!

  52. Shadow said,

    one question… for some reason my touch didn’t go on to youtube after i jail broke it. do you know what the problem is?

  53. Omen said,

    Ok i had the same prob ivenegas and nathan had/have (im downgrading right now so i dont know if this works yet but what i did was just use a different 1.1.1 file but so far it is working fine (still waiting) k i’ll update this when it is done

  54. Omen said,

    FIVE STARS (of five)
    Thank God i thought i would never be able to get jailbreak again thanks for the help in getting it to work

  55. Jay said,

    Thanks dude

  56. Jane said,

    Thank you so much!!! It worked!

  57. Shadow said,

    New!!! FIRMWARE 1.1.3 CAN NOW BE JAILBROKEN!!!

  58. dermapthera said,

    Hi Shadow

    I’ve changed the post in case there are people who wants to jailbreak 1.1.3.

    Cheers.

  59. momott said,

    Hey people its me again. I finally got this to work and thanks so much. I recommend that if you are having problems, to simplify the instructions:

    1. You have to keep the standby button held down until your iPod turns back on
    2. For me itunes never detected my ipod but a bubble popped up that said an ipod in DFU mode was detected!

    OK now I have a question, should I immediately upgrade to 1.1.3 and jailbreaking as described by ipodtouchmaster or is there and easier way and since I have a 8gb what way takes up the least space on your ipod that you know? Thanks again!

    (comment edited by dermapthera)

  60. dermapthera said,

    Hi momott

    Thanks for telling me that tip. I will update the post with it.

    If you want to upgrade to 1.1.3, there are a lot of variations. If you’re enjoying using SummerBoard, I suggest you don’t upgrade. Those having wiggling icons would be fun, but I don’t have a background image for my cool iPod.

    You can try the method by ipodtouchmaster. His method is definitely easy to follow.

    Cheers.

  61. Joe said,

    Ok……. this isnt workin…… My ipod wont restore and this really sucks….. what do I do

  62. Joe said,

    it says an unkown error occured (1604) plz help

  63. Doodee said,

    Thanks for sharing

  64. dermapthera said,

    Hi Joe

    I’m not sure about error 1604. All the technical sites I visited highlighted about having the the iTunes updated, or restarting your computer.

    These articles might interest you.
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306640
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307007

    I hope that helps.

    If all fails, I suggest you keep trying again. Reports have said that by retrying (2-3 times) have proven to be successful.

    Good luck!

    Cheers.

  65. DANTE said,

    thank you soooooo much for helping me, iv been tring to downgrade for weeks,and you came along, thanks again you guys rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  66. phillip said,

    i hold down the buttons and the screen goes off but when i let go of the standby button and keep holding the home button nothing happens! and i waited for like a whole minute and still nothing.

    HELP!!!! plz

  67. phillip said,

    and when i get it right the unknown error (1403) occurs

    PLZ HELP!!!!

  68. dermapthera said,

    Hi philip

    Error 1403 (in some resources I read) means that the file is not found.

    Please do check your correct firmware and make sure it’s not broken.

    Most people experience error 1403 because they did not download the file completely. Strangely enough, it needs multiple tries just to download the file completely.

    If you figured that it’s complete, the filesize for firmware 1.1.1 is:
    – 150 MB (157,906,686 bytes)

    Make sure it’s complete.

    Try again and see if you have any successes.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers! And good luck! πŸ™‚

  69. jose said,

    i was hoping if youd help i have complete all of the instructions and i keep getting a message sayin unknown error occured (1)

  70. dermapthera said,

    Hi jose

    When did you get that error? During downgrade to 1.1.1 from 1.1.3 or upgrade 1.1.1 to 1.1.2?

    If you get the error, most probably because you didn’t get into DFU mode correctly.

    Try this post instead.

    Cheers.

  71. jose said,

    cheers mate great help

  72. jose said,

    by the way i cant seem to get it into mode so if you could help i would be very gratefull

  73. jose said,

    sorry i meant i cant get it into DFU mode

  74. dermapthera said,

    Hi jose

    If you’re running Mac, I’m not sure how.

    If you’re running Windows, try these:
    – connect to USB dock
    – launch iTunes
    – wait for iTunes to recognize your device
    – now without closing iTunes, hold HOME and STANDBY, ignoring the slider
    – once iTunes removed your device, let go STANDBY button
    – once iTunes registered your device again, IMMEDIATELY let go of HOME button

    If you’ve done this right, your iPod screen should be blank.

    If this still doesn’t work, I’d suggest you try ipodtouchmaster’s method, which involves using iPhuc.exe

    I’m not sure if you can combine iPhuc.exe and downgrading at the same time though…

    Well if it still doesn’t work, a few more tries and patience helps.

    Sorry if I’m not been of any help.

    Good luck. πŸ™‚

  75. jose said,

    yes great thankyou ive did it just going to jailbreak it now

  76. dermapthera said,

    Good luck!

    I heard you can’t upgrade to 1.1.2 if you’re using iTunes 7.6… I will try to digg more on that and update if possible.

    Cheers!

  77. Tyler said,

    Hey,

    i tried to put my ipod to dfu mode and then itunes says its been in a recovery mode when its not. Also when i connect it to itunes it has a blank screen. Please help!!! Thankss

  78. Danielle said,

    AHHH! OMG! I HAD TRIED EVVERRYYTTHINNGG.

    thank god for DFU mode. thank fricken god. i was about to give up!

    THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU THANNNKYYOOUUU

  79. dermapthera said,

    Hi Tyler

    Yes, when your iPod screen is blank, it’s in DFU mode. You won’t notice it (there’s nowhere written) but you don’t have to worry.

    Once you connect to iTunes, it will tell you that it’s in Recovery Mode and needs to be restored. iTunes should tell you that it’s in Recovery, so don’t expect the word DFU anywhere.

    If your iPod is blank, don’t attempt to turn it on. Instead, just connect via USB, launch iTunes, then proceed with the downgrade process by pressing SHIFT+Restore (not Update), point to the 1.1.1 firmware file, and wait for the restore to complete.

    That’s about it dude!

    Good luck! πŸ™‚

  80. Neyton said,

    hmmm. it worked.

  81. jose said,

    i was just wondering that youknow when your using website jailbreakme.com on software version 1.1.2 will it work and what do the settings need to be on my ipod

  82. dermapthera said,

    Hi jose

    The automatic jailbreak via jailbreakme.com works only on firmware 1.1.1 where it utilizes the TIFF exploit unpatched in firmware 1.1.1. 1.1.2 and above versions have hence patched that exploit, making it unable to jailbreak via jailbreakme.com anymore.

    I hope that answers your question.

    Cheers!

  83. nick said,

    ty very much but i cant seem to get into dfu mode just recovery plz help me thanks a ton even if it doesnt work

  84. nick said,

    ok wat happenes is i go into dfu the screen is blank and when itunes reconizes it it says unknows error 1 couldnt restore i didnt try to restore yet

  85. nick said,

    ok now i try to restore it in dfu the screen was blank then it says unknows error 1

  86. nick said,

    ok i got it now but my itouch had to go to a white screen for some reason any reason y it did or has to do this ty though it worked for me tyttytytytytytytyty

  87. dermapthera said,

    Hi nick

    Are you telling me it’s a success, or it’s a failure?

    Anyway, give it a few tries to get it right. If you missed, you will need to start all over again.

    Good luck!

  88. nick said,

    ok yea its a success ty i finally got it after 16 tries no lie lol but anyway ty but my itouch had a white screen when i did it + my pc never reconized dfu mode but ty so much man

  89. TiHiE said,

    I love you guys!!! muahs!!! happy now

  90. Robbie Hutcheon said,

    Hey i got an ipod which isn’t Jailbroken hwever it is at 1.1.3 version, no site can jailbreak a 1.1.3 and i trying to downgrade it but everytime i do it says it can’t do it and its code number (1) and its really annoying now becaude i can’t jailbreak it. .Can anyone help i need to Downgrade my UNJAILBROKEN ipod touch 8GB

  91. dermapthera said,

    Hi Robbie Hutcheon

    I’ve heard of 1.1.3 OTB being unable to downgrade. Error (1) is just a preventive measure to prevent from the downgrading from happening.

    If you still want to try, you could try the DFU mode (search my site) or try ipodtouchmaster’s suggestion (which involves using iphuc).

    However, I don’t know if there’s another effective method. Give it a try, and let me know.

    Cheers!

  92. Robbie Hutcheon said,

    Yer i have tried and it is not successful….. is there a way of jailbreaking 1.1.3 if so write back

  93. dermapthera said,

    Hi Robbie Hutcheon

    It’s possible to downgrade 1.1.3 OTB. All you need is luck. And skill. πŸ˜›

    Here’s the simplified version:

    a) Make your iPod into DFU. THIS IS CRITICAL. If you get the “Recovery Screen” where the Dock Connector + iTunes screen, you’ll need to restore back to the stock 1.1.3, and try again. GET INTO DFU MODE NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS! (if you badly want to jailbreak… πŸ™‚ )

    b) If you get Error (1), it’s because you didn’t make to DFU mode before downgrading. PLEASE MAKE YOUR IPOD INTO DFU MODE PRIOR TO DOWNGRADING!

    c) If you get Error 1403, download the firmware 1.1.1 again. It’s probably a corrupted file.

    d) If you get any other errors (starts with 16xx), uninstall iTunes, COMPLETELY REMOVE IT, and reinstall iTunes. You can use version 7.5 and above versions. Make sure you reboot the computer prior to reinstalling.

    e) If you managed to downgrade to 1.1.1 directly after 1.1.3, make it to DFU mode again, and SHIFT-RESTORE IT AGAIN TO 1.1.1. This is important!!!!1111 (Can’t help it, but it does! I can’t find the full explanation though)

    f) Now you can jailbreak it. (I’m sure there are thousands of written tutorials all over the internet, or you can search in my blog.)

    This really requires luck. Getting in DFU mode is not as easy as it sounds. You’ll need more than luck for that. There is no other easy way, this method is tried and tested.

    If you still fail (after 100 tries?) I suggest you don’t give up. Even if you try looking at other forums, they’ll probably mumble about the same thing over and over again. So it doesn’t really make any difference.

    Good luck! You really need it.

  94. sheen said,

    Do you have to have a dock connecter to to downgrade your ipod touch to 1.1.1. I am trying to downgrade so I can jailbreak my ipod

  95. dermapthera said,

    Hi sheen

    You mean the USB dock connector that comes with your iPod Touch purchase? You don’t need that to make it to DFU mode, but you’ll need that to perform a restore.

    Unless you’re talking about the dock connector screen (which is the Recovery Screen), then that means you “missed” the DFU screen.

    If you’re using Mac OS, it’s much easier to get into DFU mode. Run independence, then select “DFU Mode”. Then do the downgrade! It’s that easy.

    Well then, good luck!

  96. ipod touch thicket said,

    hi just hoping youd help me out on this one. im using PC (windows) and my computer is kind of slow. now beacause of this it doesnt show up on itunes very fast hence making it harder to put it in DFU mode.

  97. Avraam said,

    You are really amazing thanks !!!!!:)

  98. momott said,

    Hey I thought I would try to help you guys: iPod touch thicket, your problem is that you need to use the USB in out sounds as timing because my computer is also slow and it plays audio immediatly. If that doesn’t work, go to ipodtouchmaster.com and try his method.

  99. Matty2 said,

    Thank you!

    I’ve had a jailbroken 1.1.3, and it kept crashing everything and Installer wouldn’t download anything… (well, it’ll download it, but whenh it goes to install it just crashes and goes back to the home screen). Even when I lock it the screen doesn’t turn off properly. It just goes to a really low brightness.

    I’ve downgraded and jailbroken now, and everything’s working again. πŸ˜€

    The only time i’ll update now is when Apple realease the update with Flash Player in it… (Once people have found how to jailbreak that, as well… :-S)

  100. dermapthera said,

    Hi Matty2

    I suspect if your installer keep crashing after installing is due to the low space problem.

    But I guess the wait should be worthwhile. I’m keen to see what this new SDK and Flash support have in store.

    Cheers!

  101. Sam said,

    I keep doing what your thing says and i get ipod error five when this is the first time because i usualy get ipod error 1602 or 1 whats going on all i want to is hack this thing pleas help or tell me somthing

  102. justin said,

    hey i cant seem to get it into DFU mode. when r u supposed to let go of the home button

  103. dermapthera said,

    @Sam

    Try again. Make sure you’re rebooting in DFU mode.

    @justin

    To get into DFU mode in Windows is somewhat super tricky. Use the USB sound as your guage (when you plug in a USB device, a sound comes). So, listen for it to disconnect (the disconnect sound), then let go Standby button. When it reconnects, let go Home button.

    If you “missed” it, try again.

    Good luck.

    Cheers!

  104. Lex Russian said,

    Hi um i cant see where is the software version it only has one page “summary” and it al says n/a when i click restore it says it’ll restore AND download the latest version, i clicked shift and restore but it didnt change anything BTW i got an old Mac

  105. Lex Russian said,

    I love you!!! first of all: on mack u gotta click alt instead of shift and first it told me ti connect itune to addapter but then it worked and i love u so much right now…

  106. rickayy said,

    yo, where is the firmware? is that in itunes because where do i restore, help pl0x

  107. rickayy said,

    where is restore? is that in itunes?

  108. rickayy said,

    lol, i get this error

    The iPod “iPod” could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1).

    what does that mean?

  109. dermapthera said,

    Hi rickayy

    You will get that error (1) if you did not reboot your iPod Touch into DFU mode. Please read my post regarding on how to do that.

    Cheers!

  110. rickayy said,

    ye dude but if i do DFU all the way it wont show the thing to restore,the ipod doesnt appear in itunes

  111. dermapthera said,

    Hi rickayy

    First things first…

    DFU mode vs Recovery Mode

    DFU Mode: A little lower level than recovery mode. Allows any firmware to be restored.

    Recovery Mode: A higher level restore mode. Allows certain firmware to be restored (for firmware >1.1.3)

    If you don’t set to DFU mode, you can never downgrade, and it will always tells your error (1).

    Though DFU mode looks like it’s OFF in the iPod screen, your iTunes should be able to recognize it. If it’s not recognizing, it’s probably really OFF, and you need to re-execute again.

    Cheers.

  112. matt said,

    ive gotten trhough everthing. When im at installer though, theres a very short list and it does not have many thingswhat should i do

  113. dermapthera said,

    Hi matt

    Welcome to the world of jailbreaking!

    You want apps, you’ll need to add more sources (repository). These are where applications are hosted.

    NOTE: Becareful of what you install. Some applications are buggy and might cause undesirable effects.

    You can add new sources by taking a look at this site:
    http://appleiphoneschool.com/sources

    In installer, there’s also a thing called “Community Sources”, you can install that if you don’t want to manually add sources.

    Well good luck!

  114. ryan said,

    can you send me a picture of DFU mode..

    I would like to use the DFU(alternative method).

    do i need itunes on this process?

    what are the things should i have??

  115. ryan said,

    by the way,,

    I’m happy because you’re helping helpless people like me…just kidding…

    tnx so much…nce article..

  116. dermapthera said,

    Hi ryan

    On some computers, the DFU “bubble” mode doesn’t work as accurately as suggested. I strongly suggest trying other alternative method.

    I have updated my other post. Do read it up.

    Read: Make your iPod Touch in DFU Mode

    Cheers.

  117. king said,

    so everything will be deleted? I have 2500 songs and 4 movies on my ipod this is fucked up if it erases everything fuck this shitty tutorial, let me know when you can downgrade without having to erase everything.

  118. bob said,

    it keeps saying error 1 whenever i try to downgrade while restoring does this mean i will never be able to do it?

  119. dermapthera said,

    Hi king

    Be a king, and you’ll figure out the way to downgrade WITHOUT having to erase anything.

    I’m sorry to tell you this, BUT RESTORING (the process of downgrading means to restore) means all your precious contents WILL BE ERASED.

    Go tell Apple to make a downgrade possible without having to erase anything.

    You will never be able to find a tutorial that says that “there is a way to downgrade without having to erase anything”.

    If you can figure that out, I’ll be glad to be your guest.

    I’m sure you’re not the only soul in the whole thousands of iPod Touch users who don’t want to their contents to be erased. But that’s how things work. Do something, sacrifice something, get something.

    Not trying to be rude, but you are already. If you don’t like what I write, I’m sure there are other nicer people who’d be willing to help you when you need help.

    Cheers! πŸ™‚

  120. dermapthera said,

    Hi bob

    Please try using ZiPhone to restart in DFU mode flawlessly. If you’re hitting Error 1, chances are you’re not in DFU mode while attempting to downgrade.

    Get the latest ZiPhone at ziphone.org

    I have written a tutorial for ZiPhone >v2.4, so hit the “Home” link on top of this page, and search for ZiPhone.

    Good luck!

  121. Joshua said,

    hi is it possible to downgrade to 1.1.2 directly from 1.1.3. ( I already have the 1.1.2 ipsw)

    Thanks

  122. dermapthera said,

    Hi Joshua

    It’s possible, provided you’re executing from DFU mode.

    Just a note: Why would you want to downgrade from 1.1.3 to 1.1.2 and then can’t jailbreak it? Either way, you still have to downgrade to 1.1.1 in order to jailbreak 1.1.2.

    So I’m really wondering what you’re trying to do.

    Cheers.

  123. Joshua said,

    Hi I want to upgtade to 1.1.3 jailbroken to get the iPhone apps and wiggly icons using ipodtouchmaster’s method via installer. He said that you have to have 1.1.2 jailbroken in order to make this work. So how do I go about this?

  124. dermapthera said,

    Hi Joshua

    Read my other post titled “Jailbreak the iPod Touch”

    That is whole complete (messy) guide to jailbreak into 1.1.2.

    However, some people claimed that it might not work on iTunes 7.6, so be warned.

    If you’re looking for OktoPrep, you’ll need to read the last few comments. Someone has a link to that too.

    Cheers.

  125. Martin Chesim said,

    I’ve Just downgrade my ipod touch firmware from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1 following the four steps of “DFU Mode” and all works right!
    Tks a lot, without any doubs that was the best tutorial.

  126. sheen said,

    Hey

    I think I got it into dfu mode but the picture that tells you to connect iPod to iTunes appears. When I plug it in there is a distorted ding sound since I am a windows user. It won.t show up in iTunes. It occured when tried to put my iPod Touch into DFU mode. Please help. Do you know how to fix this?

  127. dermapthera said,

    Hi sheen

    If you got that picture, that’s already in Recovery Mode. You missed the step.

    Here’s what you can try:
    – (START) assuming you’re on any working firmware (let’s just say 1.1.3)
    – Now press and hold both the Home and Standby button (ignore the slider)
    – In a few secs, it should restart with a blank screen. Once it’s blank, release the Standby button.
    – Count up to 10 (10 seconds) then release the Home button
    – If you still have blank screen, you’ve done it right.
    – If you hit the iTunes/Connector screen, try again. This time, try counting around 8 secs.
    – To find out if you’ve hit DFU mode successfully, your iPod Screen is BLANK. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO TURN ON. Connect to the USB (remove and connect back if it’s connected), and Windows will tell you it found a DFU iPod.

    Good luck.

  128. Chris said,

    I tried this method and has success on the first time. I tried the other method using iPhuc and that was way to confusing and involved a lot of other steps. Thanks for an easier way.

  129. sheen said,

    now my iPod Touch won’t turn on and is on the iTunes/Connector screen. When i plug it in nothing happens. Please help as soon as possible

  130. dermapthera said,

    Hi sheen

    What do you mean by nothing happens? Right now, I assume that your iPod is in Recovery Screen (the screen where there’s an iTunes+connector logo)? If it is, just connect to your USB dock connector and iTunes should recognise it being in Recovery Mode.

    If nothing happens, launch iTunes. Or you could upgrade iTunes.

    If all fails, try a different USB connection. That could be the culprit.

    If all still fails, go back to Apple Store. Tell them that your iPod is working fine one day but you decided to restore it to original factory. Then this problem came. Don’t ever tell them you’re trying to jailbreak. Give the innocent face. πŸ™‚

    Well, I hope that helps.

    Cheers.

  131. sheen said,

    Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank YouThank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank YouThank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You. ALL I HAD TO DO WAS PLUG MY iPOD INTO ANOTHER USB PORT

  132. dermapthera said,

    Whoa…

    Hehehe… Didn’t really expect it to work by just plugging it into another USB port. Well I’m glad that helped you out in the end.

    Enjoy.

    Cheers.

  133. Ramy said,

    I have a problem with the password for the firmware 1.1.1. Do you know the password for it??

  134. dermapthera said,

    Hi Ramy

    Wow… That was an old one. I’m not too sure about passwords being asked at all. Anyway, for passwords, I’m really sorry but I don’t know.

    Try searching elsewhere. I’ve seen something like this before. For 1.1.2 FW, the password is “alpine”.

    Sorry if I wasn’t being of any help to you.

    Good luck.

  135. imagidea said,

    finally something that works! you’re the best!

    thanks dude!

  136. Dan said,

    Hey, My 11 year old stepson bought an iPod Touch and has been struggling with it for a couple months. He wanted JailBreak, but could not get it to work. Well, your website worked!!! Thank you so much from both myself and him! He is so happy he is dancing in the living room!

    Dan

  137. dermapthera said,

    Hi Dan

    Glad that helped you and your stepson!

    Cheers.

  138. Howie said,

    Hi

    Where Do You Get The 1.1.1 firmware from?

    Thanks

  139. dermapthera said,

    Hi Howie

    I’m not sure if I missed it in the post, but it’s IN the post. Look under “Downgrade to firmware 1.1.1”. There’s the link to the firmware file.

    Cheers.

  140. Danh said,

    Well i bought the ipod touch V2 8gb and its factory loaded with 1.1.3(Software Update). do you know if anyone had managed to downgrade that to 1.1.1 or 1.1.2? i tried going the way you went with the rapidshare and got an error twice while trying to restore with 1.1.1 so i dont know if im doing something wrong or if 1.1.3 hasnt been downgraded if it came factory. and btw. after it messed up i had to recover and it gave me 1.1.4!! so now i dont know where to start, i dont know if u can give me any advice or if im on a wild goose chase.

  141. dermapthera said,

    Hi Danh

    I figured you are new to this thing?

    I have not heard anyone not being able to downgrade from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1 though. (Whether it’s preloaded with the software update or not).

    But I have a feeling you might have missed a few pointers.

    1) Make sure that it’s in DFU mode. You won’t notice it, and it’s tricky. Press and hold both Home+Standby until it restarts. Then when screen became blank, release Standby. Count to 10 (10 secs) then release Home. The screen should still be blank.

    2) Do a “Shift-click+Restore” instead of just clicking Restore. That way you are prompted to choose a firmware. Do this only when you’re in DFU mode.

    3) Try not to use ipodtouchmaster’s method. I have heard it might be buggy, and doesn’t work all the time.

    4) If all fails, you should try ZiPhone, though chances are slim that it might work. ZiPhone doesn’t require you to downgrade from 1.1.3 or 1.1.4, and it’s a direct jailbreak.

    5) Should you attempt ZiPhone, chances are you might hit and error, if you do (it keeps looping), press and hold both Home+Standby until the Recovery Screen came up (the screen with iTunes+USB Connector) then try again.

    I hope that helps. All it takes is a little patience.

    Cheers.

Comments are closed.

