Life on my Primary School days

January 21, 2008 at 4:40 pm (Personal) (, )

After discussing with my girlfriend on this, she suggested I write on things that made my primary school days memorable. So I give it a little thought, and I think it’s a good idea. I should probably write this down.

For those who’s schooling in Merlimau Primary School, sadly, the school has been taken over and renovated into Yuan Ching Secondary School. Hence, even if I ever wanted to visit back my school, it’s not there any more. 😦

Merlimau Primary School (1990-1996)

Note: Events are not chronologically listed. I just write as they came into my mind. It can be events from primary 1 to primary 6.

  • Went to first day of school together with my mom and dad.
  • My mom taught me to buy food from a recognisable vendor
  • And how to buy drinks from the drink stall
  • I was in class 1N4, 2D, 3B,4B, 5B, 6C
  • Met the Form Teacher
  • We hate the Maths teacher, she keeps long nails so that she can scratch the blackboard
  • And sometimes scratch our necks
  • And the blackboard’s full of chalk dust
  • Teachers liked to throw short chalks at pupils who are misbehaving
  • To a greater extend, even the feather duster flew
  • To an even greater extend, the books flew
  • Those who misbehave have to stand on the chair.
  • To a greater extend, on the table
  • To an even greater extend, in front of the principal’s office
  • Skipping is a sport
  • Origami is an art
  • The bookshop is making money due to extensive origami papers we buy
  • And we’ll keep the Golden Paper to be used last
  • We celebrate birthdays in class
  • And the birthday boy/girl have to buy something for the whole class!
  • Some rich kids even brought their cakes into class
  • We buy the 40 cents milk every month
  • I always buy 24 packets, that’s a full box.
  • And finishes it withing 3 days
  • Yakult/Vitagen used to be a drink
  • Drink stall sells a special 50 cents drink that comes with a toy
  • The aunty from stall no 2 sells prata in the morning
  • We always buy tidbits whenever we have money
  • And try to smuggle into class
  • And try to discreetly eat in class
  • When caught, our food was literally thrown into the dustbin
  • The teachers used METAL RULERS to hit my hands
  • Some teachers used a WOODEN RULER to hit my knuckles
  • Metal rulers was banned in my school (except for teachers)
  • Because we would scrape the sides of our tables using the metal rulers
  • We would draw things on the table
  • Backstreet Boys and Spice Girls used to be our idols
  • All the girls wants Nick Carter
  • And all the boys drool over Baby Spice
  • Uno is the best card game in the world
  • Poker cards are considered sacred
  • We’ve played Uno with boys and girls, and for those who lose, they have to unbutton one button on their shirt. Girls have to unzip.
8 Comments

  1. teeshah said,

    What a long entry!

  2. dermapthera said,

    Hehehe…

  3. teeshah said,

    I love you ❤

  4. dermapthera said,

  5. cath said,

    Hi, I came across your blog while doing a Google search. I’m looking for a former principal from MPS, Mr Ho Ah Kow. He was my principal very long ago in Bukit Ho Swee Primary. If you have any idea where he went after MPS, pls do let me know. I really need to get in touch with him. Thanks so much!

  6. dermapthera said,

    Oh wow.

    I don’t even know what’s my primary school’s principals name! But maybe hopefully my other singaporean readers might be able to help.

    Good luck!

  7. naz said,

    I was from Merlimau too! I came across your blog through google when I was searching for long lost primary school friends. I was from class of 2002.

    =)

  8. dermapthera said,

    Hehe…

    That makes me your senior whom you never met. Hope you find your friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

